Ray Niles P.S.M., C.H., President*

Degrove President Ray Niles (Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)) is a hands-on leader who understands that clarity and accuracy are critical to his client’s success. He knows that building long-term relationships requires more than sound technical skills, it requires exceptional communication and customer service.

Since taking over Degrove Surveyors in 1986, Ray’s leadership, expertise, and commitment have made Degrove a leader in the surveying and mapping profession.  A 30-year experienced surveyor, Ray is also one of only 136 ACSM-THSOA Certified Hydrographers nationwide, which signifies an elevated level of specialized expertise in hydrographic surveying.  He has directed survey activities for the Federal Emergency Management Agency, Flood Hazard Studies in various counties in Florida and the southeastern U.S.  He has also worked extensively with a variety of federal, state, and local agencies, including the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, U.S. Navy, U.S. National Park Service, Florida Department of Environmental Protection, Florida Department of Transportation, and multiple water management districts, as well as private developers and engineers.

Ray earned his Bachelor of Land Surveying degree from the University of Florida, in Gainesville, Florida. He is a Fellow and Life Member of the Florida Surveying and Mapping Society (FSMS).  He is also an FSMS past president, recipient of the prestigious H.O. Peters Surveyor of the Year award, and past president of the Florida Crown Chapter of FSMS. He currently serves as the FSMS liaison to the Board of Professional Surveyors and Mappers, is a member of the University of Florida Geomatics Advisory Committee, and a member of the Hydrographic Society of America, the National Society of Professional Surveyors, and the Northeast Florida Builders Association.  Ray enjoys boating, sport fishing, water skiing, kayaking, and attending Gator football games.

Ray is licensed to practice surveying and mapping in Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana.